(Interview + Giveaway) Don't Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom


Don't Ever Change
by M. Beth Bloom
Series: None
Release date: July 7th 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genres: Contemporary, romance
Age category: Young Adult
No. of pages:  368 pages (hardcover)
ISBN: 0062036882 (ISBN13: 9780062036889)
Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that she has realized she can't "write what she knows" because she hasn't yet begun to live. So before heading off to college, Eva is determined to get a life worth writing about.

Soon Eva's life encounters a few unexpected plot twists. She becomes a counselor at a nearby summer camp—a job she is completely unqualified for. She starts growing apart from her best friends before they've even left for school. And most surprising of all, she begins to fall for the last guy she would have ever imagined. But no matter the roadblocks, or writer's blocks, it is all up to Eva to figure out how she wants this chapter in her story to end.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell,Don't Ever Change is a witty, snarky, and thought-provoking coming-of-age young adult novel about a teen who sets out to write better fiction and, ultimately, discovers the truth about herself.
add to goodreads

Author Interview

Is there anything you would like to change in your latest book?

          This may be a ridiculous thing to say but I wish Eva got even more selfish. It would’ve been so cool if Eva messed up so bad that she wasn’t ever allowed to say goodbye to her campers. Maybe a moment where Alyssa tells Eva just how much she’s let the group down. I never want to punish Eva exactly, but I do like the idea of leaving her without validation. Too cruel?

What was one of the most surprising things that you've learned in creating your books?

          I’ll never be one of those perfect routine writers. I try, I do, but my best sentences just don’t come early in the morning, as much as I would like them to.

What do you do when you're not writing?

          Currently? Learning how to ride a bike. (I know!)

Where do you get ideas from your book?

          My own life. I find that memories are so deeply fiction as it is; tapping into them leads you somewhere that barely represents your initial experience. Our mind filters and fuzzes and writes books every day.

How long does it take you to write a book?

          At least a year. I have a feeling my best book will take a decade.


Follow the tour

Click the banner for the tour schedule.

About the author:
M. Beth Bloom is a novelist and a screenwriter. Her fiction has appeared in StoryQuarterly and Dave Eggers's Best American Nonrequired Reading series. She is also the author of Drain You. M. Beth lives in Los Angeles.
Author links:


Hardback copy of Don't Ever Change (INTL) 07/19
a Rafflecopter giveaway